Drop-In: How fast and far will Australian rates rise? - Capital Economics

Past Events

Events Archive

Drop-In: How fast and far will Australian rates rise?

18 May, 2022

 

We’d long thought that Australian rates needed to rise sooner than the Reserve Bank of Australia had been signalling. Now that the Bank has finally started to tighten, how far will it need to go to rein in inflation pressure – and what will that mean for markets?

Join economists from our Australia and Markets services shortly after the release of Q1 labour market data on 18th May for a discussion about the Australian growth, inflation and monetary policy outlook. The team will be answering your questions as they address key issues, including:

  • The state of the labour market and its inflationary impact;
  • Why the consensus is underestimating how fast and far Australian rates need to rise;
  • What all this means for Australian yields and the aussie.

Time: Wednesday, 18th May at 07:00 BST/14:00 SGT/16:00 AEST

Your privacy: All information submitted will be collected and stored by Capital Economics Ltd and subsidiary companies for the sole purpose of providing you with information about our research services. For more information about our privacy policy please click here.

For more information please email